1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Should I do all question

1. Feb 22, 2015 #1
    Hi everyone,

I'm studying E&M using Purcell & Morin's textbook. The end of chapter exercises are divided into problems (has detailed solutions) and exercises (no solutions whatsoever). I know I should do all the problems, but is ti worth it doing the exercises. I mean, if I try the problem, I'll never know if I have the right solution, so are the exercises worth doing?

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 22, 2015 #2
    I would do at least a couple exercises, depending on the specific topic and how proficient you are at it. I would say do the problems, and check your answers. See how many you get wrong, and look over the solutions and figure out where you went wrong. Do about as many exercises as problems you got wrong, and increase or decrease depending on how well you do with it and the specific lesson covered.

4. Feb 22, 2015 #3
    So you're saying that I should do the exercises that deal with the same subject as the problems I was struggling with. But, how do I know if I' got them right? There's 33 problems (with soln) and 50 exercises (w/o soln).

5. Feb 22, 2015 #4
    Maybe I'm misunderstanding this, but if the problems have solutions can't you check your answers? And also, 33 problems is more than I was expecting, though the general thing I suggested should still work.

6. Feb 22, 2015 #5
    The end of the chapter things are divided into 2 sections:

1) Problems-these have detailed solutions

2) Exercises-these have no solutions whatsoever

this helps?

The main question I have is if it's worth doing the exercises (#2 above). Since they don't have the answers in the back, is it worth doing? I'll never know if my answers are right.

7. Feb 23, 2015 #6

jtbell

Staff: Mentor