1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Should I go to grad school?

1. Aug 30, 2010 #1
    Hey guys!

I'm an undergrad senior and I'm trying to figure out what to do. When I'm done, I'll have double majored in Physics and Math, with a minor in Computer Science. This gives me a bunch of options, but none of them really appeal to me.

Grad school would probably be fun, but the idea of working ridiculously hard for 6 years in the same place during my early 20's seems like something I might tire of. I know I could work as hard as I need to, but I have to be interested in what I'm working on. And I do like Physics, but I'm not sure if I do that much.

So far, people have asked me, "Well, what would you do instead?", and I don't really have a good answer. But doing something big like this for lack of something better to do seems like a bad idea.

I also don't know where I'd even apply. I've been doing research, but I still don't really know what part of Physics really interests me, so I don't know where I'd look.

Can anyone give me some advice?

Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 30, 2010 #2
    You're quite correct, "what would you do instead?" is a horrendous path to grad school. Being so unsure about doing a PhD probably means you don't want to do one - so don't. It is hard work, has ridiculous hours at times and is poorly paid. If you don't love it, it'll drive you mad. Though, you should consider that you're not limited to physics or mathematics for grad school - there are hundreds of other disciplines that would be keen to use your skills. Do you have any other fancies or interests that you would consider spending the next 6 years investigating?