1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Should I master algebra first?

1. Oct 21, 2013 #1
    Hello,

I studied algebra a few years ago and have unfortunately forgotten most of what I have learned. I am very interested in self-tutoring myself in physics, probably with a combination of online lectures and some textbooks I own.

Do you recommend I re-learn all of algebra and trig before I begin?

Thanks.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 21, 2013 #2
    Definitely. Math is the language of physics, so trying to learn physics without first understanding math is like trying to read a French novel without first learning French. It's not impossible, but you'll end up having to learn the math and physics simultaneously. It's probably easier to attack them one at a time.

4. Oct 21, 2013 #3

arildno

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    Dearly Missed

Do it in parallell.
    Physics PRESUMES mastery of algebra and trigs.

5. Oct 21, 2013 #4

Integral

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Don't stop with Algebra, also study Trig and calculus, at a minimum. There is some posibibiliy for doing calculus along side of physics.

Learn as much math as you can.

6. Oct 21, 2013 #5

Bandersnatch

Science Advisor

Pure math books might be daunting and discouraging for somebody just wanting to dive into the physics, especially without a guidance from a professional.