Should I Take Extra Courses During My PhD in Cosmology for Future Careers?

In summary, taking courses in optics and lasers may help you find a job as a physicist, but it's important to ask photonics researchers at your university if you're competing against other candidates with a PhD in photonics.
Raeed777
Hello everyone, I finished my BSc im Electrical engineering in israel and currently doing my masters in cosmology in the same Uni. I'm a planning on doing PhD in the same subject as well. My masters thesis is about using machine learning for dark matter and structure formation, PhD would be in the samw field most likely.

Even though I love the subject and 100% want to commit to it, I did a little job scouting for physics related job. A lot of jobs, and I really mean a lot, are looking for PhD in photonics/electro-optics/non-linear optics and that sort thing. So I was wondering if taking a few coursed on optics/lasers/QIP during my PhD would be useful for future job opportunities or is it not going to be enough to attract future employers? Or do you think I should focuse on machine learning and coding instead?

Side note: I enjoy all branches of physics so I have no problem of taking courses about subjects other than cosmology. Im currently studying GR and QFT and already did advanced statistical mechanics.

Physics news on Phys.org
It's hard to say - one cannot easily get into the mind of the person doing the hiring. In general, your thesis is more important than your coursework when looking for a job as it answers the question "what can you do?" while classwork answers the question "what did somebody tell you?" But obviously there is value in classes, otherwise nobody would take them.

Also, with a PhD and a BSEE you will probably find some job. It's really a question of how much you want that job. And that makes it even harder to guess.

Likes PhDeezNutz and Raeed777
Vanadium 50 said: