Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Should I take Organic Chem?

1. Mar 4, 2009 #1
    Hello,

I am a physics undergrad...getting ready for my final semester this summer. I have to take a chemistry class (actually, anything above a first General Chemistry class). It just so happens that the ONLY such Chem class they offer (small school) during my final semester is Organic Chem 1.

(On that note, my school has two versions of Org Chem, one being the dumbed down "Industrial Org. Chem", for engineers interested in polymers and stuff. Then there is "Org Chem 1", which is the first full blown Organic Chem for Chem majors, and supposedly pretty intense. Only one of them is being offered during my last term, which is the harder one)

So my options are
    1) Take Organic Chem 1 (Which I've been advised not to, but they already agreed to let me into if I want)
    2) Take a Chem class out as a guest student.
    3) Both 1 and 2 ("fail-safe"!)
    4) Don't graduate. Who the hell cares about having a BS in physics anyway? I don't need a degree to sell T shirts on the beach...

I actually do want to take the class, but it does scare me.

So now that I'm done with my rant, is it a bad idea for physics majors to take hard core chemistry class? Any experiences or relevent stories?

Last edited: Mar 4, 2009
  2. jcsd
  3. Mar 4, 2009 #2

Borek

Staff: Mentor

If you don't feel like you are fluent in GenChem 101 trying Organic Chemistry can be traumatic.

4. Mar 4, 2009 #3