Creating a Molecular Air Circuit: A Layman's Perspective

• Thread starter fagan
  • Start date
In summary, Cliff is trying to create an air pressure reducing device that uses the Bernoulli effect. He does not know how much energy it would need to create a pressure drop, but he is hopeful that it would be small.
fagan
I posted this on a different thread but I think you people would be better at seeing what I mean. I am a layman so try see what I mean not what I say . Make a circuit that adds or removes electrons from a molecule of air( I just heard a lab has added then removed a electron from a atom of gold) at that moment repel and or attract the air molecule in a desired direction. Can we make it work so that as soon as a particle makes contact it charges then forced to move done over and over again This circuite would cover a surface all air and only the air in contact with the surface would be made to move in the same direction at ever increasing speed. It may make more sense to have it only do this to a % of air. The hope I have is to make a very small amount of air move a small amount just the air in contact with a surface very fast reducing pressure on that surface. The list of things I do not know are extensive how many molecules are in contact with a surface at sea leva
at normal temps. How much energy to remove a electron or more than one electron from a air molecule .With the mass of a atom or molecule being so large compared to the slight charge can you apply adequate force to move them.
I will not list the things I do not know but ask for some insight from people with some eduction behind them

Engineering news on Phys.org
Ionizing air is pretty simple with high voltages. The Sharper Image air filter moves air past its particle collection plates in this manner.