1. PF Contest - Win "Conquering the Physics GRE" book! Click Here to Enter
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Simple Curcuitry Help

1. Feb 2, 2010 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data
    Given the circuit shown find:
    a) value of i_a
    b) value of i_b
    c) value of V_o
    d) power dissipated in each resistor
    e) power delivered by the 50v source

Picture: (http://img197.imageshack.us/img197/4515/1000941y.jpg [Broken])

I am very new to circuits, any help would be much appreciated.

3. The attempt at a solution
    I understand how to do kcl and kvl and I understand ohm's laws, but I just can't seem to find out where to start. I've tried many things. And now I'm thinking it's how I'm assigning my passive sign convention. Do I even need to assign signs?! help please!
    Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2017
  2. jcsd
  3. Feb 2, 2010 #2

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Hi LP20,

I think that KCL is the best way to solve this problem. Consider the "node" given by the top black dot. KCL is basically a statement of local conservation of charge (i.e. it says that electric charge can't just disappear!). What this means is that the total current entering the node must be equal to the current leaving the node. Let us call this node point '1'. Therefore, the potential at that node is v1. KCL says

current into node = current out of node

I1 = Ia + Ib

The current entering node 1, which we've labelled I1, is just the current across the branch with the 4 ohm resistor in it. The current through that resistor is just given by the potential difference (or 'voltage') across that resistor, divided by the resistance (by Ohm's law):

I1 = (50 V - V1)/(4 ohms)