1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Simple doubt with relations

1. Apr 15, 2012 #1
    Hi. I've starting working with vectors in linear algebra but I need to have previous knowledge of equivalence relations so I started studying that but I have a simple doubt with the following relation:

$$R = \{ (a,b)/a,b \in A,{\text{ a - b is an integer multiple of 2}}\} $$

In this case could be for example that 1R1 or 2R2? because zero is multiple of every integer. The thing is that the relation is defined by a and b so I don't know that if a relation is defined by (a,b) then a has to be different to b because in this following one they have to be equal:
    $$E = \{ (a,a)/a \in A\} $$

Thanks!

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 15, 2012 #2

Dick

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Yes, 0 is a multiple of 2. And 1R1 and 2R2. Nothing there says a has to be different from b.

4. Apr 15, 2012 #3
    Alright, and in the case of relation E do they have to be necessarily equal because it says (a,a)?... so if I say for example 5Ex I know that x=5, is that right?

Thank you Dick!

5. Apr 15, 2012 #4

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

Yes, your "relation E" is just the "Equality" relation. That is one relation (and the prototype equivalence relation).

6. Apr 15, 2012 #5
    OKay, and to define the integers could I write the relation as follows?:

$$\mathbb{Z} = \{ ((a,b),(c,d)) \in N \times N,a + d = b + c\} $$

I don't understand the definition of integers using relations.... how could an ordered pair represent a natural number?

Last edited: Apr 15, 2012
  7. Apr 15, 2012 #6

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

That's poorly phrased. For one thing ((a, b), (c, d)) is NOT in N X N. It is a pair of pairs of integers while NXN is pairs of integers.