1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Simple p=mv question needs simple answer

1. Apr 5, 2013 #1
    I realize that this is a very simple question but I need a dispute resolved. Please provide the simplest answer you can to the following question. I realize that friction and subtle things come into play in a question like this but please avoid it in your response. I am looking for the simplest answer possible. I am an 8th grade teacher and I need an answer like you would expect from and 8th grader or an 8th grade teacher. Thanks.

If a truck and a bicycle have the same momentum, which one is harder to stop?

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 5, 2013 #2

Nugatory

Staff: Mentor

Assuming that the truck is much heavier than the bicycle....

Any non-zero force will eventually stop both the truck and the bicycle. If you apply the same force to slowing both, the truck will travel much farther and it will take much longer before it stops.

4. Apr 5, 2013 #3

Nugatory

Staff: Mentor

Sorry, you're right. I answered for "same initial speed".

5. Apr 5, 2013 #4
    But if two objects have the same momentum, arent they equally hard to stop? In this case we are told nothing about mass or velocity.

6. Apr 5, 2013 #5

Q_Goest

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member

For a truck and a bike to have the same momentum, the mass of the vehicle times the velocity of the vehicle must be the same for both of them. Therefore, the lighter, less massive bike will have a much higher velocity than the truck.