1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Simple Proof

1. Dec 18, 2008 #1

Noo

I'm studying pure maths/numb theory for the first time (independantly, and from a shallow, brief-ish book with no given solutions, so i have noone else to ask :P ). I just started a day or two ago. The book leaves Induction till a little later, so this should be proved directly, or maybe by contradiction - and only with basic high-school maths.

Even to my novice eyes this problem seems very simple, not simple enough for me, yet, though.

[tex]\forall n \in Z, \exists a,b,...,h \in Z[/tex] such that [tex]n = a^{3}+b^{3}+. . .+h^{3}[/tex]

I must either prove the above is true, or prove that its negation is true.

I'm not sure where to start, and havent been for 1 or 2 other problems (such as proving 'a^3 -a' is always divisible by 6). I have been thinking of something along the lines of;

Showing [tex]\sqrt[3]{a^{3}+b^{3}+c^{3}+d^{3}+e^{3}+f^{3}+g^{3}-n}[/tex] cant always equate to an integer. But that is random and useless. I'm noy even sure whether the original statement is true or not.

What should i be looking for in trying to prove these things? Or is it mainly that i am not familiar enough with properties of numbers yet? In any case, suggestions/hints/advice or even solutions will all help me in starting out.

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 18, 2008 #2

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

First, what exactly is the problem? "Such that" is usually a condition, not a conclusion. Are you trying to prove "If n is an integer, then there exist integers a,b, c..., h that n= a3+ b3+ ... h3" And a, b, ... can be any number of integers, not specifically 8? That probably is NOT the case since then it would be trivial- any number can be written as a sum of "1"s.

4. Dec 18, 2008 #3

Noo