1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Simple pulley/tension problem

1. Jul 26, 2006 #1
    Here is the question:

Two blocks of different mass are connected by a massless rope which goes over a massless, frictionless pulley. The rope is free to move, and both of the blocks hang vertically. What is the magnitude of the tension in the rope?

(a) the weight of the heavier block
    (b) the weight of the lighter block
    (c) their combined weight
    (d) a value between the two weights
    (e) zero

It's probably pretty easy for most of you, but I'm new to this stuff :-)

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 26, 2006 #2

Hootenanny

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Can you use Newton's second law to formulate an equation to represent the motion of each mass? I would recommend starting with a free body diagram showing all the forces acting.

4. Jul 26, 2006 #3
    I understand that, but I can't decide whether to add the two tension forces or average them.

5. Jul 26, 2006 #4

Hootenanny

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Can you show me your equations?

6. Jul 26, 2006 #5
    Well, Newton's second law states that: F = ma
    For each one, the sum of the forces is the T + (-mg), so T + (-mg) = ma
    T = mg + ma
    T = m (g + a)
    So, the heavier block creates more tension on the rope.
    Other than that, I'm clueless.

7. Jul 26, 2006 #6

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor