Could Misaligned Brushes Cause Arcing in DC Shunt Motors?

In summary: is the armature shaft aligned correctly? does the commutator have commutator bars that are lined up correctly? does the commutator have commutator slotting? does the field windings have the correct number of turns? does the motor have the correct number of pole pieces? is the insulation hot? does the insulation have a good sheath? does the motor have the correct number of pins? etc etc etc. if it's an old motor you might not have to do all of that, just some of it.
FOIWATER
Gold Member
Hi PF..

I am an industrial electrician (w/ a electrical engineering technology diploma)

I work in a iron ore mine in northern Canada... we operate mining shovels. they are purely electric

there are two motors used for hoisting the bucket, they are DC shunt wound motors.

We recently built a new shovel, and one of the hoist motors is not operating correctly.

It is obvious to me the brush sets are not correctly aligned to commutate current while the armature rests in the neutral plane.

My question is... would you all agree w/ me in saying that if the brushes were spaced directly over the splits of the comm rings, you could move them, as a set all around the 360 degrees of the end bell and you would achieve satisfactory commutation?

AND.. that only if one of the brushes is not aligned well enough, will the current arc across the brush to the comm on the supply positive end?

I'm trying to explain as best I can it is difficult without a model...

let me try again... would you agree in saying... that the only reason the motor is not working correctly... and that a brush set is arcing... is because one brush set may be aligned correctly, but another may not be lining up with the splits of the comm while the other is... therefore current is arcing through the comm and back to the positive DC supply?