Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Simple question about frequency

1. Feb 1, 2015 #1
    Hi,

Im quite new to frequency and how it effects a circuit with both capacitors and inductor. I have created a simple circuit in Multisim and run an AC-analysis.
    Pictures of both circuit and analysis is attachments.

What is happening here.

And arent the circuit also depending on the time (When the capacitors is getting fully charged)?

What I think is happening;

1. With lov frequency both the capacitor will have very high resistance, and the inductor will have very lov. Because of JWL, and 1/Jwl W= rad/s
    And all the voltage will be the same, because now current will run tru the circuit.

2. Then with higher frequency the capacitors will start charging, and therefore it will take som voltage.

But is it not time depending, only frequency depending? bilde77.png

2. jcsd
  3. Feb 2, 2015 #2

LvW

I am not quite sure what your problem is - however, you must strictly discriminate between analyses in the TIME and FREQUENCY domain.
    You have performed an AC analysis (frequency domain) and, therefore, you cannot expect to see any time dependence in the simulation result.
    Your output voltage is measured across a series LC resonant block which has an impedance minimum (zero) at the resonant frequency.
    As a consequence, the output voltage goes down to zero at this frequency.
    Very far below and above this frequency either the capacitor or the inductor, respectively, provide a very large impedance - hence, the complex impedance divider between R and the LC block exhibits (nearly) no damping and the output approaches "1".
    Please note that it is common practice to display such results using logarithmic units (dB).
    In case you want to study the time behaviour of the circuit you have two choices (TRAN analysis):