1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Simple Vectors

1. Sep 5, 2007 #1
    I am new to the US and I have taken physics and I need a little help.

For each vector given, draw a co-ordinate system and sketch the vector on a seperate sheet of paper. be sure to label the angle that the vector makes with axis.

a: a man walks 800 meters in a direction of 20 degrees west of north

b: a worker lifts a sign by exerting a force along a rope of 250N at an angle of 50 degrees with respect to the ground.

----------------------------------------------------
    a jogger runs 300 meters due east and then turns & runs 500 meters due south.

what is the total distance that she ran?

800m, yes?

so then it asks me to calculate the displacement [magnitude & direction]

how do i calculate magnitude and direction?

2. jcsd
  3. Sep 5, 2007 #2
    If you have a vector (x,y), its magnitude is [tex]\sqrt{x^2 + y^2}[/tex], and the angle of orientation relative to the positive x-axis is [tex]\arctan{\frac{y}{x}}[/tex]. (Use the signs of y and x to figure out what quadrant you are in)

Last edited: Sep 5, 2007
  4. Sep 5, 2007 #3
    In the first last example I got 583 meters due South East. It is easiest to break up the vectors into their X, and Y components. Essentially what you are doing is using the Distance formula. You usually want to add vectors when wanting to know a change in position, or change in velocity.

5. Sep 5, 2007 #4
    ...what?

I'm so lost. :(

X And Y? where?

What is a co - ordinate system.

Is it the same as drawing graphs?

>< i'm lost

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 6, 2007
  6. Sep 6, 2007 #5
    44 views and NO ONE has said anything?

This homework is for TOMORROW, FIRST PERIOD. :(

7. Sep 6, 2007 #6

cristo

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor