Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Simplifying this equation?

1. May 23, 2015 #1
    Hello, I am very new to tensors and GR and would like to ask for guidance to understand how tensor simplification works.

If we have this term $$\frac{1}{2}N_{IJ}F_{\mu\nu}^I\tilde{F}^{J\mu\nu} $$ and I want to derive w.r.t ##F^{\rho\sigma I}##

where
    - ##N_{IJ}## is a symmetric complex matrix
    - ##\tilde{F}^{\mu\nu}=\frac{1}{2}\epsilon^{\mu\nu\rho\sigma}F_{\rho\sigma}##

- How to derive w.r.t ##F^{\rho\sigma I}##? (I have no ##\rho\sigma## in the term above--- I know this how it goes but I have no idea how).

That is to say, had the derivation were w.r.t ##F^{\mu\nu}## and I had instead of ##\frac{1}{2}N_{IJ}F_{\mu\nu}^I\tilde{F}^{J\mu\nu}## a ##1/2F^{\mu\nu}F_{\mu\nu}##, the derivation would give me an ##F_{\mu\nu}##, but in this simple example I presented now, there is no F with indices ##{\rho\sigma I}## instead of ##{\mu\nu}##.

2. jcsd
  3. May 23, 2015 #2

pervect

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

If F is a rank 3 tensor i i.e you have ##F^{I}{}_{\mu\nu}##, which is how I interpreted your post (I am not quit clear why the I index is roman and the others are greek), then it's hodges dual, ##\tilde{F}## will be a rank 1 tensor, assuming you're working in the usual 4 dimensonal space. You write the hodges dual operator of a rank 2 tenor (which you also call F) as another rank 2 tensor ##\tilde{F}## which makes sense, but I am not understanding the rank 3 tensor version of your question. I suspect it's just wrong, but I could be misunderstanding something.

add - if the issue is the hodges dual, I'd recommend reading a bit about clifford algebras - the hodge dual operator didn't make any sense for me until I got that background. See for instance "