Singlets and gauge invariance

• Thread starter ledamage
  • Start date

Main Question or Discussion Point

Hi folks!

Another stupid question: Consider a Yukawa coupling [itex]\lambda \bar{\psi}_1 \psi_2 \phi[/itex] where [itex]\phi[/itex] is a scalar field in the [itex](2,-\frac{1}{2})[/itex] representation and [itex]\psi_1[/itex] and [itex]\psi_2[/itex] are lh. Weyl fields in the [itex](2,-\frac{1}{2})[/itex] and [itex](1,1)[/itex] representation of [itex]\mathrm{SU}(2) \times \mathrm{U}(1)[/itex]. Why does the occurrence of the singlet [itex](1,0)[/itex] on the rhs of

[tex](2,-\frac{1}{2}) \otimes (2,-\frac{1}{2}) \otimes (1,1) = (1,0) \oplus (3,0)[/tex]

imply that this term is gauge-invariant? What about the [itex](3,0)[/itex] part? I just can't see it.

Answers and Replies

Interesting question. I'm still learning this stuff so take this explanation with a grain of salt.

[itex]\varphi,\psi_1[/itex] live in two-dimensional field vector spaces, so when we juxtapose them we must end up with a 4-dimensional space according to the tensor product rule for multiplication of vector spaces. We can ignore [itex]\psi_2[/itex] because it is 1-dimensional.

Intuitively it makes sense that a doublet [itex]\varphi[/itex] multiplied by the Dirac conjugate of another doublet is singlet, so [itex]\bar{\psi}_1\varphi[/itex] must form a 1-dimensional subspace of our 4-dimensional tensor product space. The fact that we have a 3-dimensional subspace left over should not concern us much because [itex]\bar{\psi}_1\varphi[/itex] doesn't live in there.

Yes, I think so. The appearance of a singlet in the above equation is just a necessary but not a sufficient condition for the term to be gauge invariant, right?

I'd say that's correct yes.

samalkhaiat
Science Advisor
Insights Author
The appearance of a singlet in the above equation is just a necessary but not a sufficient condition for the term to be gauge invariant,
Do not confuse the REDUCIBLE tensor

[tex]