Skipping a Stone across Water

• Thread starter mistercrowley
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Water
In summary, the student is trying to create an Adobe Flash simulation of skipping a stone across water. They have some physics done, but they need to research more about the process. They are looking for data on real world skips to help them program the simulation more realistically.
mistercrowley
Hi all!

I'm new to this thread, but I had a question about the Physics of skipping a stone across water.

I am going to school for Game and Simulation Programming and for my Portfolio assignment to graduate, I have taken on a fairly advantageous assignment. I plan on making an Adobe Flash simulation of skipping a rock across water. The user will be able to control the radius, height, and texture of the stone as well as the angle of attack, velocity, wind speed and direction, wave size and spin related to throwing the stone.

My physics is a bit dodgy, I understand some of the idea of the process, but what I do know is Actionscript in Flash so if I can somehow research/locate formulas related to these physicis and real life data about skipping a stone I would be able to program those as variables in Flash. Does anyone know of a good place where I can acquire this data?

Thanks in advance!

Physics news on Phys.org
What I have found so far in my research is several different formulas that may add up to one formula but it seems as though there are still factors which are absent.

What I have already is inertia of the stone = MR/t^2

And collision time(t) = (MR/pS)^-1/2 / U Where (pU^2)S is lift force. Not sure how (pU^2)S is calculated though.

I also found this equation for the action of the water on the stone as: FL = ClPwU^2*Swettedf(a,B)n

I got that Cl is the lift coefficient and Swetted is the area of the stone affected by the water

and that Swetted = R^2(cos^-1(1-s/R)-(1-s/R)sqrt(1-(1-s/R))

From that I see tell that R is radius and that s=|z|/sin(a)