Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Skull and Bones

1. Jan 19, 2009 #1
    Im sure some of you guys have heard of this extraordinary story on Skull and Bones.

Thing is, do u guys believe in this kind of stuff, if u dont know who they are. here are some links:

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Skull_and_Bones

Last edited by a moderator: Sep 25, 2014
  2. jcsd
  3. Jan 27, 2009 #2
    I have heard of the organization. I have also heard that George W. is a member. I continued with the research and discovered much more information worth reading.

4. Jan 29, 2009 #3
    When I was a freshman at Yale, in 1977-78, I would often walk by the Bones tomb. It has somewhat the feel of an Egyptian Pyramid, simple in its mausoleum geometry, and without adornments. Many of the underclass dream of eventually getting "tapped," a touch on the shoulder which inquires whether the selected wishes to join. Chosen captains of industry, government and financing have belonged to Skull & Bones.

What drives its "secrecy," though, are the rituals and plotting that supposedly take place within. Much more rumor than fact, speculation than actuality, exist about the charm and proceedings of the society. My guess is that it is not much different than other secret societies. Members want to feel more special or elite than others - indeed, they have already grown up in privilege; most are quite talented and intelligent. (Most, G.W.) It is quite possible, although uncertain, that I knew a Bonesman-to-be on the Old (freshman) campus at Yale.

5. Jan 30, 2009 #4

RunSwimSurf

Gold Member

6. Mar 8, 2009 #5
    Bah! The mantra of "secret societies dominating the world" can NEVER be subjected to a rigorous analysis because secret socities are, by definition, secret. Who would of have ever guessed that the pecadilloes of Ivy League collegians would have people yelling "conspiracy!'