1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Slice of X

1. Aug 1, 2015 #1
    Dear PF Forum,
    I'm studying Relativity,
    And there's some term in math that I don't know. And I am even not an English native.
    in ##\frac{dX}{dY}## What does "d" mean?
    I know that dX is the tiny slice of X. What do we say it in English?

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 1, 2015 #2
  4. Aug 1, 2015 #3
    I know I should have asked this in "Language forum"? :smile:
    So, "infinitesimal" is the antonym of "infinite"?

5. Aug 1, 2015 #4
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Infinitesimal

The words "opposite" and "antonym" are too imprecise in english to be of much use in mathematics.

What is the opposite of x? Is it -x? Or is it 1/x?

What is the opposite of INF? Is it -INF? Or is it 1/INF? Something else?

6. Aug 1, 2015 #5
    THAT'S RIGHT. Another good point for me. Thanks.
    So dX is if you slice X again and again and again,... to infinity.
    [Add: Just for fun,
    If you challenge me, "How do you slice X? In half or 1/3 or 1/4 or...?
    Supposed we divide the biggest part of X with n = 1/3
    1. There is X -> A: 1/3 and B: 2/3
    2. Divide the biggest part; B: 2/3 -> C: 2/9 and D: 4/9
    3. Divide the biggest part; D: 4/9 -> E: 2/27 and F: 4/27
    4. Divide the biggest part: A: 1/3 -> G: 1/9 and H: 2/9
    5. Divide the biggest part; A or C: 2/9 -> etc...
    No matter what method you choose for n, dX still infinitesimal]

7. Aug 1, 2015 #6

HallsofIvy

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor