Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Snubber circuit

1. Jul 15, 2016 #1
    I have been doing a lot of reading online concerning this circuit but having little luck in my dilemma. I work in the bowling industry the machines use 1/3 HP 115 v single phase induction motors. FLA on these motors is 6 Amp. These motors use capacitors 480-520 MF for braking. This braking circuit is achieved by using 2 NC contacts The motor run circuit uses 2 NO contacts The relay is of course 4PST My problem is: The NC contacts used for braking burn off at least 50% compared to the NO contacts. This is a common problem for years across this industry. The concern has been addressed with the manufacturer to no avail. I guess selling more relays is more important! Does anyone have a snubber/ suppression circuit that would help with this problem? Sure hope someone can help me

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 15, 2016 #2

Svein

Science Advisor

I had that problem once. I solved it by inserting an 8Ω 50W resistor in series with the relay contacts.

4. Jul 15, 2016 #3

anorlunda

Staff: Mentor

Last edited by a moderator: May 8, 2017
  5. Jul 15, 2016 #4

berkeman

Do these circuits typically use zero-crossing detection for voltage (closing the contacts) and current (opening the contacts)?

6. Jul 15, 2016 #5
    I tried a solid state relay they didn't last long at all. I you have ever gone bowling you would see that the motors are cycling on and off a lot!. These machines on a busy day will run 10 hrs. straight. A compact arc suppression circuit is what I need. Using a rated TVS in the circuit might also help.What do you guys think.

7. Jul 15, 2016 #6

anorlunda

8. Jul 15, 2016 #7
    20160715_163238.jpg As you can see the 2 middle NC contacts are shot

9. Jul 15, 2016 #8

jim hardy

Science Advisor
    Gold Member
    2016 Award