1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Software Engineering

1. Sep 1, 2010 #1
    I'm currently majoring in EE, and it's my first semester and I realized the math class I am in is like so far behind what I am suppose to be in. I know EE is a GREAT job, lots of money, lots of job demand (lots of people want to hire you), and such and such, but the math and physics is extremely intense, and I am already so far behind.

So I wanted to switch my major to Software Engineering. Now the good thing about software engineering is that it's all programming, and I LOVE PROGRAMMING. It's like my second nature, I just get it naturally (unlike math). Even if I don't know a language, it only takes me a few days to learn it.

But the problem is, everyones been saying how there hasn't been much hiring for software engineers. The job demand is bad, and pay isn't that great either. Now compared to EE, I know SE sucks, but I want to know how much scope there is with SE.

I was wondering about your opinions and facts about SE. What do you think about SE?

Last edited: Sep 1, 2010
  2. jcsd
  3. Sep 1, 2010 #2
    "I was wondering about RSC's opinions and facts about SE (PLEASE FACTS ONLY!!). Is the job that bad? Will I get hired in 4 years? Will I be working for under 40k? So, help please. "

How do you expect to get factual answers to these questions?

4. Sep 1, 2010 #3

D H

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

I don't know who RSC is, but his advice is all wrong. All it takes is a quick search for "software engineer job outlook" to see. (BTW, learning how to look things up quickly, knowing the right keywords to use is an important skill. Hone that skill. OK, rant off.)

Just a couple of a myriad of hits: