Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Solar energy design question

1. Apr 23, 2008 #1
    I am an amateur science/engineering enthusiast (AA electrical engineering), I would like to design/build a solar energy system consisting of a small tracking parabolic mirror heating a steam boiler to drive a small turbine-generator. The mirror I am thinking 3 foot diameter and I have some idea how to go about constructing it. The questions come in on the boiler design, pressure, safety, how to pump in the cold water feed, check valving, turbine construction, cooling the steam, and many phases of constructing same. Any info on any of the above would be appreciated.

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 23, 2008 #2

Danger

Gold Member

I am also an amateur, so I can't answer much of that. What I would seriously recommend, however, is that you have your pressure vessel built by a professional shop, with an appropriate relief valve provided by them. Safety always has to come first.

4. Apr 24, 2008 #3

Mech_Engineer

Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Well, a useful number that you will want to know is this- solar energy incident on the earth at sea level is about 125 W/m^2. With a 3 ft diameter mirror, this means you will only have a maximum power of about 80 W to work with; that doesn't sound like a whole lot when you're wanting to drive a steam turbine and an automatic tracking system...

5. Apr 25, 2008 #4

Redbelly98

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Actually it's closer to 1000 W/m^2. You may be thinking of a photovoltaic cell, where the low efficiency results in an output power close to what you are saying.

See the paragraph under "Solar constant" here:
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Solar_radiation

6. Apr 27, 2008 #5