1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Physics Solo Physicists

1. Mar 17, 2015 #1
    Hello everyone, just a quick question: I have heard that it is impossible to do research in physics by yourself anymore. I heard that "The days of Einstein are gone" and that nowadays in physics, especially string and quantum relativity research, everyone publishes in groups. I feel like this is exaggerated, but I have no experience in the field yet.

So it is true? Is there no hope for a "lone physicist" to do productive research?

Thanks for any and all replies

2. jcsd
  3. Mar 17, 2015 #2

Dale

Staff: Mentor

I agree completely. Research (or pretty much anything technical) is a team sport now.

4. Mar 17, 2015 #3

CalcNerd

Education Advisor
    Gold Member

My opinion only. Yes, you could theoretically do research by yourself. But most of us would probably experience the 5 nines of failure 99.999 % of the time, or would be last or under researched or simply a crackpot. Einstein made several contributions all in the same year (and he was truly Brilliant), and some of those ideas were revolutionary, opening up new fields that were just unknown before he entered the arena of physics.

But that great new breakthrough might (.001% chance) might come from a sole genius who is not discouraged by others (and is not the crackpot I alluded to above).

5. Mar 17, 2015 #4
    I see. So if someone doesn't like working with others they should not be a physicist?

Also, why? What has changed about physics that has made it so that someone can't do anything by themselves?

6. Mar 17, 2015 #5

Evo

Staff: Mentor