Solving a Physics Question: Alice, Bob, Charlie & Daniel

• Thread starter sherbet_pop1
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Physics
In summary, the conversation discusses a physics problem involving throwing rocks into a cave from a canyon. The participants need to calculate the time it takes for a rock to hit the top and bottom of the cave, as well as the velocity required to do so. The conversation also addresses the issue of understanding the problem versus just plugging in numbers, and the importance of not solving the problem completely for the sake of learning. The person seeking help was eventually able to solve the problem on their own.
sherbet_pop1
This is my first year at studying physics and I understand th econcepts however I am having trouble applying these concepts to "problem questions". This is a question I urgently need help with:

Lice, Bob, Charlie & Daniel are standing on the edge of a canyon which is 100m deep & 20m wide. On the opposite side of the canyon, there is a 10m high cave, 15m below the top of the cliff. They want to see who can throw a rock horizontally & get it into the cave. They each throw the rock with the following initial velocities: Alice 5m/s, Bob 10m/s, Cgarlie 15m/s, Daniel 20m/s. Whos rock makes it into the cave?

I know I need to find the time it takes for a rock to be thrown n hit the top of the cave, and for the bottom. Then calculate the time it takes each person the throw there rock and hit the opposing wall. Whoevers is inbetween the top of cave and bottom of cave times, is the person who will get there rock into the cave. I also know I must somewhere use the displacement rule...I have no idea how i should begin, what rules are needed, and how to complete such a difficult question! Help would be greatly appreciated :smile:

Physics news on Phys.org
The trick is to deal with vertical and horizontal motion separately. First I'd draw a sketch, if a picture isn't already given.