Some tensor confusion

Main Question or Discussion Point

I don't think this should be a very difficult question for people who are used to working with tensors, but I'm new to it, so I'm confused. The Wikipedia article on the electromagnetic field tensor [itex]F^{\mu \nu}[/itex] asserts that

[tex]
F_{\mu \nu} F^{\mu \nu} = 2 \left( B^2 - \frac{E^2}{c^2} \right).
[/tex]

But if you look at the way they've written out [itex]F_{\mu \nu}[/itex] and [itex]F^{\mu \nu}[/itex] in matrix form, there is no way you get that when you just simply multiply the two matrices together. I mean, how can one obtain a constant from multiplying two square matrices (that aren't one-by-one, obviously) together? What am I missing here?

(The relevant Wikipedia article is http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Electromagnetic_tensor" [Broken].)

Last edited by a moderator:

Answers and Replies

Nabeshin
Science Advisor
Because this is not matrix multiplication! The fact that mu and nu are used on both tensors means they are summed over, so this is an inner product of two tensors, not the product of two matrices!

dextercioby
Science Advisor
Homework Helper
Insights Author
Of course you're missing. Taking the minus trace on the resulting matrix. In tensor notation

[tex] F_{\mu\nu}F^{\mu\nu} = -\delta_{\mu}^{\lambda} F_{\lambda\nu}F^{\nu\mu} [/tex]

R u guys taking antifrction into account? I think ur overcomplicating things

Fredrik
Staff Emeritus
Science Advisor
Gold Member
What am I missing here?
I answered this question quite recently (for arbitrary matrices), so I'll just quote myself.

If you want to treat this expression as something involving a product of matrices, this is what you need:

Definition of matrix multiplication: (XY)ij=XikYkj
Definition of transpose: (XT)ij=Xji
Definition of trace: Tr X=Xii

These definitions tell us that

[tex]A_{ij}S_{ij}=(A^T)_{ji}S_{ij}=(A^TS)_{jj}=\operatorname{Tr}(A^TS)[/tex]

Alternatively,