Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Sonnets by Petrarch

1. May 13, 2005 #1
    I am struggling while trying to dissect Petrarch's Sonnet's I to IV. All i know is that all the 4 sonnets are kind of continuations of each other...each being about his love. I can't see a theme. Is it just love? if so, how are the poems different then? Thanks for any help

2. jcsd
  3. May 13, 2005 #2
    Got a link?

4. May 13, 2005 #3

loseyourname

Staff Emeritus
    Gold Member

Asking physicists to help you with literary analysis is a bit like asking Maya Angelou to do your relativity homework for you.

5. May 13, 2005 #4
    I majored in Theater, as did Math Is Hard. I've tackled a sonnet or two in my time.

6. May 13, 2005 #5

arildno

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    Dearly Missed

Here's Sonnet 1 in the original:
    Just brilliant, isn't it?

BTW, for those uncultured individuals for whom medieaval Italian is only partly understood (do such boors actually exist? How can they live with themselves??), here's a link which includes translations of the first and second sonnets, at least:

http://www.darsie.net/library/petrarch.html

7. May 13, 2005 #6
    I don't like those translations. Got anything that follows the originals more closely?

8. May 13, 2005 #7

plover

Homework Helper

Here's another:
    Sonnet I (tr. A. S. Kline)

You who hear the sound, in scattered rhymes,
    of those sighs on which I fed my heart,
    in my first vagrant youthfulness,
    when I was partly other than I am,

I hope to find pity, and forgiveness,
    for all the modes in which I talk and weep,
    between vain hope and vain sadness,
    in those who understand love through its trials.

Yet I see clearly now I have become
    an old tale amongst all these people, so that
    it often makes me ashamed of myself;

and shame is the fruit of my vanities,