Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Source code examples

1. Aug 26, 2005 #1
    I am new to programming( I done a quarter on C, but that s it). i had heard that the best way to learn about programming is by reading and understanding other peoples source-code( bill gate) . Are there any website i could go to do just that? Reading other peoples source-code?

another questions( related):

There seem to be some type of academic journals for every academic subject you can imagine these days. Are there any journals where professionals or academic programmers publish source-code to unique problems?( something similar to "mathematical intelligencer" etc..?)

A trival question:

is "source-code" also called "Algorithm" in computer science?

Last edited: Aug 26, 2005
  2. jcsd
  3. Aug 26, 2005 #2
    j thing that better way to learn C is to write by your own a programs. U can pattern on the other source-code or fine a book or a course with codes.

4. Aug 26, 2005 #3
    the best way to learn code is by example. And recode....but to start off you should go through certain startup tutorials liek those outta a textbook. for online just type Tutorials in C++ or C

And no, source-code is not algorithm. Algorithm is theorectical process of computing something. Like Factoring, Triangulation, Collision Detection, GameFrame etc, NeuralNet Activation, Sorting & Searching

5. Aug 27, 2005 #4

dduardo

Staff Emeritus

The best way to learn programming is by doing. There is no other substitute.

6. Aug 30, 2005 #5
    www.planet-source-code.com
    It lets you download 5 source codes each day for free. But you can simply delete your cookies at your browser and keep on downloading more codes as long as you wish :D

http://www.programmersheaven.com/
    Is also a good choice.