Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Spacetime and em

1. Jun 2, 2008 #1
    In GR, gravity is seen as property of the geometry of spacetime (curvature) as opposed to a force field. Does this theory extend to electromagnetics ,i.e. could EM be described as a property of spacetime, or is EM strictly dealing with fields? Do light waves and gravitational waves travel in the same medium (spacetime), or separate mediums? Do gravitational waves travel at c, and if so , do all fundamental force waves travel at c, or just light? Also, is there any correlation between the ranges of EM and G being infinite as opposed to weak/strong forces (see link: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Fundamental_forces#Overview)? I have no background in physics so any help/corrections would be greatly appreciated. thank you.
  2. jcsd
  3. Jun 2, 2008 #2
    well yes, gravity waves do travel at the speed of C. (don't get the waves confused with a gravitational feild itself tho o_O) i dunno about the rest. [:
    oh yeah forgot 2 add this too,
    well, i'm not sure if you really can say that the light uses the spacetime as a medium because when ther's no medium, light exists as photons, not waves (search planck's constant).
    Last edited: Jun 2, 2008
  4. Jun 3, 2008 #3
    By no medium do you mean no spacetime, or are you talking about a vacuum? If so isn't a vacuum still in spacetime?
  5. Jun 3, 2008 #4

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

Electromagnetic fields are treated like any kind of matter in GR, i.e. they appear in the stress-energy tensor, not in the metric. (The metric describes the geometrical properties of space-time, and that includes gravity. Actually that is gravity).