Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

I Spacetime project for Multivariable Calculus?

1. Apr 21, 2017 #1
    I am a student currently taking both Multivariable Calculus and Differential Equations. Instead of a final exam my teacher assigned a final project for Multivariable, and I chose to do something with Spacetime/Black holes. Within the scope of <100 hours of work, is there anything I can do with my current knowledge? At the moment I feel a bit overwhelmed with trying to learn Tensor calc.

2. jcsd
  3. Apr 21, 2017 #2

Nugatory

Staff: Mentor

How much special relativity do you know? There's no shortage of interesting spacetime problems ieven in the flat spacetime of SR, before you get take on the much more demanding curved spacetime of general relativity and black holes.

How much classical mechanics and E&M do you know? Have you been through a calculus-based course on classical mechanics? You'll get better and more targeted answers if you can tell us more.

4. Apr 21, 2017 #3

pervect

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor

You could try reading "Exploring black holes" by Taylor. It might not be hopelessly advanced, I think it has some workbooks/projects. I don't own it, unfortunately, though sample chapters are availble at the aurhtor's (E.F. Taylor) website.

5. Apr 21, 2017 #4
    Thanks I'll check it out.

6. Apr 21, 2017 #5
    I have a very limited understanding of E&M, but some understanding of Classical Mechanics. I do understand special relativity and some of general relativity, and I'm fairly good at teaching myself new things within a reasonable scope (e.g. simple calc-based mechanics). The project doesn't need to be particularly advanced as it will be presented to other students of my caliber, but this is my area of interest and I would enjoy doing a lot of work for it. Any other questions?

7. Apr 22, 2017 #6

Nugatory

Staff: Mentor