Tony Rothman Questions E=mc^2 in American Scientist

• A
  • Thread starter mathman
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Doubt
In summary: The author cited (pre 1905) papers where people derived ##E=\frac{3}{4}mc^2## rather than the usual. He wondered whether ##E=mc^2## was valid at high energies.This is something that has been debated for a long time, and the answer is still unknown.
mathman
Science Advisor
TL;DR Summary
Amer. Scientist Article by Tony Rothman questions ##E=mc^2##. Questions?
In the latest issue of American Scientist there is an article by Tony Rothman questioning ##E=mc^2##. Are the assertions made in the article valid? Are there comments by other physicists available?

Physics news on Phys.org
The famous formula is valid, but it is also frequently misunderstood.

That said, I have no knowledge about the specific article in question. Maybe you can identify a particular question that concerns you from the article?

The author has a homepage where there is a link to the article. I don't know if accessing the article through this link violates copyright law.

Likes Nugatory and Dale
mathman said:
Are the assertions made in the article valid?
The article seemed mostly historical. I don’t know the history, so I have no reason to dispute it. Was there something you found particularly concerning?

From the principle of relativity we know that the very weak radiation coming out of the rear of a very fast moving heater and the very strong radiation coming out of the front of the same heater exert opposite forces on the heater.

The physicists that tried to calculate the radiation reaction force on a moving heater did not make use of that simple fact. I mean they did not notice that if the calculated forces cause the heater to accelerate, then the forces have been miscalculated.

Last edited:
Dale said:
The article seemed mostly historical. I don’t know the history, so I have no reason to dispute it. Was there something you found particularly concerning?