Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Special relativity question.

1. May 7, 2010 #1
    Ok here's the short story. A friend of mine is in grad school for physics. I have a BS in physics, however i graduated in 2002 and haven't used anything i learned as i don't work in the field. I always try to think up questions to stump him. This time he got me. Here's what he asked me. In special relativity, At what speed does an object need to travel for its Total energy to be less than its resting energy. This one is way out of my league at this point.

If i posted this in the wrong place i apologige.

p.s. i asked him about the object having zero mass and didnt get a response.

2. jcsd
  3. May 7, 2010 #2

Nabeshin

Science Advisor

Impossible.
    [tex]E^2=m^2c^4 +p^2 c^2=E_0 ^2 + (pc)^2 \implies E \geq E_0[/tex]

4. May 7, 2010 #3
    But i dont see a solution for velocity? Even if that number was a negative number wouldnt there be at least a value that could be assigned. Sorry if im annoying ive been at work a long time at this point in my day. The brain shut off, but from my understanding of what he asked the total energy of the particle ( the rest energy plus the kenetic energy) must be less than it's rest energy. wouldnt there be a solution in terms of velocity. at least a way to mathmatically solve for it weather the answer is real or imaginary?

Last edited: May 7, 2010
  5. May 7, 2010 #4
    [tex]TE=\frac{m_0c^2}{\sqrt{1-(v/c)^2}}[/tex]
    [tex]RE=m_0c^2[/tex]

Find [tex]v[/tex] such that [tex]TE<RE[/tex] :-)

6. May 8, 2010 #5

Fredrik

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member