Spectral Directional Emissivity

• Thread starter sliwintm
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Emissivity
In summary, the direction of emission in the thermal band [7-14micron], particularly for non-metallic surfaces, can be influenced by the material's physical properties such as density and surface roughness. This can in turn affect the material's emissivity.
sliwintm
Hi all,

I am trying to understand why emissivity changes with direction. Specifically within the thermal band [7-14micron] and while looking at non-metallic surfaces (like a flat water surface).

What I'm thinking is that since vibrating atoms are basically accelerating charges and create EM waves that the density of the materials I'm observing cause restrictions to the atomic vibration and thus the emission angle of the light.

My background is in engineering. I'm just trying to get some enlightenment on the subject.

Physics news on Phys.org

Thank you for your post and your interest in understanding emissivity. Emissivity, or the ability of a material to emit thermal radiation, is affected by a number of factors including surface roughness, temperature, and direction. In the thermal band [7-14micron], the direction of emission can be influenced by the physical properties of the material, such as its density and molecular structure.

As you mentioned, the vibrating atoms in a material create electromagnetic waves, and the density of the material can affect the direction of these waves. For non-metallic surfaces like water, the density of the water molecules can vary depending on the direction of observation. This can impact the emissivity of the water surface, as the direction of emission may be more restricted in certain directions due to the arrangement of the molecules.