Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Speed of airplane engine

1. Jun 3, 2010 #1
    I am in the airport right now and I was wondering if there is someway to determine the speed of the aircraft engine from the sound the engine makes inside the plane. I have a audio analysis program and I can determine the frequency of the sound inside the airplane. Is there any way to determine the speed of the engine this way?

2. jcsd
  3. Jun 3, 2010 #2
    Bump......anyone?

4. Jun 4, 2010 #3
    What engine? Turbine or Piston? Assuming Turbine, Which Turbine Manufacturer? Which Model?

What are you "hearing"? Turbine Compressor whine? Turboprop prop wash noise?

Assuming higher pitch with higher RPM?

I'm a Private Pilot, "FAA/Military" Simulators being my only "turbine time". If I recall correctly, most turbine instrumentation reflects percentage of max rpm, not typically "actual values".

I believe the answer to your question is "yes", IF, you knew more about the specific powerplant and it's specific aircraft application.

5. Jun 4, 2010 #4
    You can tell the speed of an engine from the sound. Don't know exactly how, but it's terribly complicated.

6. Jun 4, 2010 #5
    I would say the highest frequency is the frequence obtained but the frequence of a rotor blade passing a stator. Now, if you knew how many of each...

7. Jun 4, 2010 #6
    I am pretty sure I would be hearing the turbine whine. When I looked at the analysis I noticed that there were 2 frequency peaks. One was 245.185 Hz and the other was 632.347 Hz. Now I am just going to try and think about how I can somehow apply these numbers to the turbine speed.

8. Jun 4, 2010 #7