Is the Star Test for Syllogisms a Valid Method?

• Thread starter Login
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Star Test
In summary, the star test is used to check if a syllogism is valid by checking to see if there are any letters that are starred twice or if there is a letter on the right hand side that is starred. The example I gave failed the test because there is nothing in A.
Login
I'm reading a book by Harry J. Gensler in which he introduces his 'star test' for checking whether or not a syllogism is valid. According to the star method the premises;

all A is B
all A is C

has no valid conclusion. But wouldn't;

some B is C

be a valid conclusion?
Sorry if this is kind of a silly question, I'm just starting to learn this stuff.

Physics news on Phys.org
Are you sure that you've copied it correctly? The closest that I could find was this fallacy - Undistributed Middle Term.

If the example is correct, perhaps the answer is elsewhere on that site.

I'm pretty sure. Gensler says the star test works by putting a star above any distributed letters in the premises and any non-distributed letters in the conclusion. The test says it is valid only if:
1) each capital letter is starred exactly once and
2) there is exactly one letter on the right hand side that is starred.
In the premises of the examples I listed 'A' would be starred twice, once in each premise, so that should make it invalid but I don't see why 'some B is C' isn't a valid conclusion.

The example I gave wasn't from the book, it was something I though up which fails the test but appears to have a valid answer.

Last edited:
Never mind, I think I figured it out. Is it because there isn't necessarily anything in A?

My first thought when I read your example was the following:

A = Ford
B = vehicle
C = 4 wheels

Substituting, using your example:
all Fords are vehicles
all Fords have 4 wheels

It looks like some vehicles have 4 wheels would be true.

But if we take:

A = fairies
B = things that have wings