1. Limited time only! Sign up for a free 30min personal tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Starting in Physics

1. Aug 12, 2013 #1
    I'm currently a freshman and I'm really interested in learning Physics.
    I've never had any experience doing Physics, but I do know that math is involved and that's it.
    I'm done with Trigonometry, Algebra 2, and Calculus so I hope that's enough for Physics.
    Anyways, I've just got a lot of questions about what Physics is like and how Olympiads are like.
    If any of you guys do Math you know how there's the AMC 10/12 and if you do well on that you go to AIME? And if you do well on the AIME you go to the USA(J)MO and maybe possibly the IMO?
    Well I was wondering what is was like for Physics. I also need some good recommendations for books. Just list all of the books that I would need to possibly get into the IPhO(if possible). I did write a post about this before but I was still a little confused because some of the members said I only need Conceptual Physics and University Physics with Modern Physics to get into the IPhO.
    Thank's for you help!

2. jcsd
  3. Aug 12, 2013 #2

Simon Bridge

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper
    Gold Member
    2016 Award

A freshman at high school?
    "Physics is wonderful and rewarding to study - go for it!" says the physicist ;)

You want a background in math and general science - the general science stuff can be filled in as you go. A lot of the specific math will get filled in too ...

That should be plenty - many enter with less. It will depend on the teacher somewhat though. You will be well advised to continue with the math as well.

You are interested in competative education? I'll leave those questions to those who know the specific situation.

There is a whole section on PF about books - go look :)