Statics Maximum Weight Problem

In summary, the conversation discusses a problem involving the maximum weight that can be hoisted using two cords, and the angle for equilibrium. Elbarto provides a simpler method for solving the problem and explains how to find the weight of the crate using a ratio. Charles is grateful for the explanation and clarifies how to show his calculation for the weight of the crate. Elbarto confirms that as long as the solution includes the values for theata and A, the question has been answered.
CharlesL
A big HI to everyone in the forum. I am new to this awesome forum. Perfect for my engineering studies! :)

Anyway, here's my problem.
The cords BCA and CD can each support a maximum load of 500N. Determine the maximum weight of the crate(A) that can be hoisted at a constant velocity, and the angle 0 for equilibrium.

What I've done:
Using the equations of equilibrium,
[tex]\sum[/tex]Fx=0
DC cos (angle) = CB sin 22.6
500N cos (angle) = 500 sin 22.6
angle = 67.4

[tex]\sum[/tex]Fy=0
DC sin (angle) - CB cos 22.6 = A
500 sin 67.4 = A + 500 cos 22.6
A = 0.1N (a value which does not seems right to me)

Attachments

• Q319.jpg
    Q319.jpg
    7.4 KB · Views: 534
Last edited:
Physics news on Phys.org
From what I could tell of your diagram, it looks like BCA is all 1 piece that wraps around the pully and CD is another piece that connects to the middle of the pully. If that is the case, then in you solution you assume that if the load in BC is 500, then the load in CD is 500.

If you think about it, if BC is 500 then AC must also be 500. you are getting 0.1 because if the BC==CD=500, then both of the cables will make the same angle to the X axis therefore cancleing out each other. [Remember there is nothing in the question suggesting that because the cables can each handle 500, that they infact carry this load]

The way I solved the problem is:

1) let the weight A=1, this will give u force in AC (and obviously BC) of 1