1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Statics Problem

1. Jun 16, 2008 #1
    A big HI to everyone in the forum. Im new to this awesome forum. Perfect for my engineering studies! :)

Anyway, heres my problem.
    The cords BCA and CD can each support a maximum load of 500N. Determine the maximum weight of the crate(A) that can be hoisted at a constant velocity, and the angle 0 for equilibrium.

What I've done:
    Using the equations of equilibrium,
    [tex]\sum[/tex]Fx=0
    DC cos (angle) = CB sin 22.6
    500N cos (angle) = 500 sin 22.6
    angle = 67.4

[tex]\sum[/tex]Fy=0
    DC sin (angle) - CB cos 22.6 = A
    500 sin 67.4 = A + 500 cos 22.6
    A = 0.1N (a value which does not seems right to me)

Attached Files:

Last edited: Jun 16, 2008
  2. jcsd
  3. Jun 17, 2008 #2
    From what I could tell of your diagram, it looks like BCA is all 1 piece that wraps around the pully and CD is another piece that connects to the middle of the pully. If that is the case, then in you solution you assume that if the load in BC is 500, then the load in CD is 500.

If you think about it, if BC is 500 then AC must also be 500. you are getting 0.1 because if the BC==CD=500, then both of the cables will make the same angle to the X axis therefore cancleing out each other. [Remember there is nothing in the question suggesting that because the cables can each handle 500, that they infact carry this load]

The way I solved the problem is:

1) let the weight A=1, this will give u force in AC (and obviously BC) of 1
    2)sum forces in the X and Y. both will have the 2 unkowns in them, Fcd and theata
    3)divide one equation by the other (you will need to think about this) cancle out Fcd.
    4)once you have theata, you can then solve for Fcd