1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Statistics Linearity Question

1. Oct 7, 2014 #1
    1. The problem statement, all variables and given/known data

I have two different experimental curves, and I would like to measure how closely a straight line fits each data, and which curve is more crooked. In statistics how can I measure this "linearity"?

By the way this is about stepper motor step linearity (ideally it has to be a straight line i.e. homogeneous step sizes). I am comparing the two plots made for two different speeds:

1582o3.jpg

2. Relevant equations

3. The attempt at a solution

I'm new to stats and I'm not sure what method to use. I'm very confused because some websites say I have to calculate the ##R^2## value, while others say I need a some kind of regression line. :confused:

So, if the linearity could somehow be determined from the equation of regression line, what kind of regression do I need to use (linear or quadratic, cubic, etc)? And how exactly do I determine linearity from that equation?

Any explanation is greatly appreciated.

P.S. I am using Matlab.

2. jcsd
  3. Oct 7, 2014 #2

Borek

Staff: Mentor

I am not sure of the nomenclature, but I assume R2 is just a correlation coefficient, which in this case is a measure of how good the linear regression is. Two sides of the same coin.

4. Oct 8, 2014 #3
    Thank you for the clarification. A high ##R^2## is what I think I will need to show good linearity.

5. Oct 8, 2014 #4