Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Stirling Engine design help

1. Dec 9, 2009 #1
    Hey,

I'm an electrical engineering student and I'm trying to design a solar dish which converts the heat from sunlight into electricity. I managed to make a small stirling engine with the results i got from google (The stirling engines made from coke cans). I was wondering how costly it would be to actually make or even buy a stirling engine of about 5 KW capacity.
    Please reply if you have any experience with working with stirling engines.

Thank you,
    Vidarth

2. jcsd
  3. Dec 9, 2009 #2

mgb_phys

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

Last edited: Dec 9, 2009
  4. Dec 9, 2009 #3
    Making the Stirling engine is easy. Its making one thats efficient which is tough. In order to get even reasonable efficiency a thermal recuperator is required. The more efficient and less complicated designs use two pistons with a the recuperator in between them.

http://blog.steamshift.com/wp-content/uploads/moved/stirling_engine.gif [Broken]

Making something like this for 5kW would be a bit challenging but certainly doable if you got a mill on hand. If you don't have access to a machine shop, I would look at stirling engine electrical generators used in boats as a starting point.

Last edited by a moderator: May 4, 2017
  5. Dec 10, 2009 #4
    Hey thanks a lot. Can you post some links about plans for a 5 kw stirling engine as i have access to a machine shop at university. Also do you know if any companies sell these commercially?

6. Dec 10, 2009 #5