1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Stopping Distance

1. Oct 10, 2004 #1
    Hello everyone this is my first time in the forum and i'm actually having lot of trouble with my Physics homework. Hope someone can help me. Here's one of the problems and thanks in advanced.
    If the coefficient of kinetic friction between tires and dry pavement is 0.800, what is the shortest distance in which an automobile can be stopped by locking the brakes when traveling at 29.7 ? Take the free fall acceleration to be 9.80 .

Last edited: Oct 10, 2004
  2. jcsd
  3. Oct 10, 2004 #2
    Please include units with all your data whenever you post. Also show us how you have attempted the problem and where you got stuck.

4. Oct 10, 2004 #3
    I'm sorry I didn't even notice that I missed the units.
    Here is the problem again:
    If the coefficient of kinetic friction between tires and dry pavement is 0.800, what is the shortest distance in which an automobile can be stopped by locking the brakes when traveling at 29.7m/s? Take the free fall acceleration to be 9.80m/s^2.
    On this problem I don't know how to start it off. Thats where I get stuck. I don't know how to incorporate the kinetic friction to find distance.

5. Oct 10, 2004 #4
    I think this is best done with work-energy concepts due to the lack of a value for mass of the car. What happens to the initial (kinetic) energy of the car while it skids?

6. Oct 10, 2004 #5
    I think I see what you are saying but my problem is that I haven't completely gone through that yet. That is the next chapter. The chapter that is problem comes from is Applying Neton's Laws, but i'm stuck. Thanks for your help

7. Oct 10, 2004 #6
    So they want you to do this with kinematics formulas?

8. Oct 10, 2004 #7