Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Strange op-amp configuration

1. Jul 19, 2011 #1
    Im doing my thesis its about measure haze at ambient, so I found very little information about DIY schematics to work with photodiodes, at last my tutor found something, but when I was doing the circuit I found that this doesn't worked! well I made some mods and for a mistake I found a configuration that worked well!! BUT!!! which configuration of op-amp is this??? heve you seen something like this documented??? I didn't but it works very well with any diode except for LEDs, if any one find something interesting in this circuit please let me know. Thanks

op-amp%20extrange.jpg

2. jcsd
  3. Jul 20, 2011 #2
    Can you tell us a little more about how the circuit works? When you shine light on the photodiode, what happens to the opamp output? By the way, the symbol you used for the photo diode indicates it is an LED. What is the part number of the photodiode? What is the ground connected to?

4. Jul 20, 2011 #3

berkeman

Staff: Mentor

Your configuration is close to the traditional photodiode opamp current to voltage converter circuit. I used Google Images and those search terms to get these diagrams:

http://www.google.com/search?tbm=is...converter+photodiode&gbv=2&aq=f&aqi=&aql=&oq=

It looks like your "photodiode" is backwards, BTW.

5. Jul 20, 2011 #4
    Hi, no it is no a LED, I just used that symbol to figure out the diagram, it is a photodiode from inside an old mouse used to capt the movement of the ball, it is infrared, The circuit is totally strange because... , yes, it seems to be a traditional current to voltage but it is not, the output is proportional to the light that reaches the photodiode and I get the voltage measurement from pin 6 and pin 2 (see the diagram) and the ground goes to the pin 3 in the op-amp

6. Jul 20, 2011 #5