• Support PF! Buy your school textbooks, materials and every day products Here!

Study of radiation

• Thread starter Makveger
  • Start date

Main Question or Discussion Point

I'm a mechanical engineering student in my senior year
These days I find my self very interested in thermal radiation and radiation in general like gamma rays,I've never been able to get deep into this field just a little bit in the heat transfer course
So is there any way to get deeper in radiation and shielding(like in nuclear reactors)?
Would that involve study of quantum mechanics and modern physics??because I've never taken these courses before.

Also would that be a good choice regarding that I'm gonna go a little far away from my original field of study(thermo-fluid sciences)??

Answers and Replies

I'm a mechanical engineering student in my senior year
These days I find my self very interested in thermal radiation and radiation in general like gamma rays,I've never been able to get deep into this field just a little bit in the heat transfer course
So is there any way to get deeper in radiation and shielding(like in nuclear reactors)?
Would that involve study of quantum mechanics and modern physics??because I've never taken these courses before.

Also would that be a good choice regarding that I'm gonna go a little far away from my original field of study(thermo-fluid sciences)??