Studying Abroad: Benefits & Challenges for Engineers

• Studying
  • Thread starter Cynix
  • Start date
  • Tags
    Studying
In summary, Jordan is a second year undergraduate student who is hoping to transfer into a BEng/BSc in Engineering with a major in Physics. Jordan is interested in studying abroad in either Germany or New Zealand. Jordan has been learning the German language and has some German friends who she would like to converse with while studying abroad. Jordan believes that studying abroad will be beneficial to her in multiple ways, both professionally and personally.
Cynix
Greetings, PF. As this is my first post, I'll quickly introduce myself.
My name is Jordan, and I'm a second year undergrad, studying to obtain a BEng in EE (And also, BComm, which I'm quickly losing interest in). At the moment, I am hoping that my application to transfer into BEng/BSc with majors in EE and Physics will be accepted.

At the moment, I am studying in Australia. There is plenty of opportunity for engineers to work, in most disciplines. Having an interest in Physics, I decided I would like to take it as a second major. I've been pondering some of the possible directions having this extra degree would allow me to take. I'm becoming increasingly interested in the areas of nuclear and fusion energy.

To my knowledge, Australia is not currently undertaking or funding much research into fusion powered energy, and none of our power comes from nuclear sources.

Being young and human, traveling has always interested me. Europe, in particular, strikes me as a prime destination. Given this lust for travel, and areas which are somewhat out of reach in Australia, it seemed like a wonderful idea, when I saw a flyer exclaiming 'Student exchange: Study abroad!'

Currently my plan is to study abroad with a partner university in Germany for either 6 months or a year, and assess whether I'd like to continue my studies there.