1. Not finding help here? Sign up for a free 30min tutor trial with Chegg Tutors
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Studying Studying In California

1. Nov 5, 2005 #1
    Hi I'm currently a undergraduate student in Australia. I was wondering what was the best way to get into a honours program in a university like Caltech?

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 5, 2005 #2

Pengwuino

Gold Member

Be one of the top students in the country?

4. Nov 5, 2005 #3
    for caltech
    Transfer Students

* Total number of transfer students who applied: 188
    * Total number of transfer students who were admitted: 15

Less than 10% admitted....

For undergrad, what about Harvey Mudd?
    Transfer Students

* Total number of transfer students who applied: 68
    * Total number of transfer students who were admitted: 10

5. Nov 6, 2005 #4
    Can you guys give me a benchmark to compare with? I need to know if these ambitions of mine are mere pipe dreams...

6. Nov 6, 2005 #5
    If you want to get into caltech, you should be able to use google :tongue2:

You're probably busy, and I'm not.....

Ok, here is a normal state university (Arizona State Univeristy).

Transfer Students

* Total number of transfer students who applied: 7,413
    * Total number of transfer students who were admitted: 6,491

Do you only want to transfer to Caltech? If so why?
    -or-
    Do you only want to transfer to a school in California? If so why?

If not, than you have a lot more choices, some good colleges accept a lot of transfer students.

7. Nov 6, 2005 #6

Pengwuino

Gold Member

If you are even considering the idea that they are pipe dreams, then they probably are. If you aren't straight A, top of the class, local hero, etc etc, you will probably have a big fight on your hands.

8. Nov 7, 2005 #7