Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Studying vector calculus

1. Nov 13, 2005 #1
    I've recentlty been studying vector calculus at uni and now that we are almost up to the general Stokes's theorem and its many froms I am just beginning to understand it and actually enjoy it.

One thing that is really annoying me though is that I have heard one-forms being refered to as covectors. I am reasonably familiar with covectors in that I know that they are elements of a dual space and are constucted as a linear combination of the daul basis vectors ei* which satisfy <ei,ei*> = {kronecker delta} where ei is a standard basis vector.

Is a single one-form such as dx then an element of the dual basis?

I've only ever studied the dual space of R^n, which as I recall, is the space of linear functionals. I fail to see how a vector of the form (dx, dy, dz) could represent a linear functional.

Does it have something to do with work?

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 13, 2005 #2
    They are dual vectors, but not to Rn.
    Think of a smooth surface (a 2-dimensional manifold) in R3. At each point of the surface, there is a tangent plane. Attach these planes to each point, respectively. Each plane is a vector space called the tangent space to the manifold at that particular point. The dual space is called the cotangent space. Now, you're familiar with vector fields that assign a vector to each point of a set. A 1-form assigns a dual vector to each point of the manifold (that are elements of the cotangent space to the manifold at that particular point).
    As a concrete example, the gradient operator is a 1-form you may already be familiar with. It attaches a covector to each point that can then be used (as a 1-tensor) on the tangent space to that point to get directional derivatives at that point.

Last edited: Nov 13, 2005
  4. Nov 14, 2005 #3