Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Subgroup math help

1. Mar 27, 2005 #1
    hey!! great to find such an informative website....
    i'm an undergrad math student and have lots of problems with group theory.i hope you'll all help me enjoy group theory...
    my teacher put forward these question last week and i've been breaking my head over them without much success :
    1. let G be a finite cyclic group of order p^n, p being prime and n >=0. if H and K are subgroups of G then show that either H contains K or K contains H.
    i started out supposing the contrary but i wonder if i'm on the right track. i don't think it helps. :confused:

2.if G is a group of order 30 show that G has atmost 7 distinct subgroups of order 5.
    can i say this : let H be a subgroup of order 5 then the number of distinct left cosets of H in G is 6. so are we done?!

3.let G be a group such that intesection of all subgroups of G different from {e}. then prove that every element of G has finite order.

4. give an example to show that a subgroup of index 3 may not be a normal subgroup of G. :frown:
    thanks again for the help.
  2. jcsd
  3. Mar 27, 2005 #2

matt grime

Science Advisor
    Homework Helper

1. G is cyclic what does that mean? so what can you say about the elements in H and K in terms of this?

2. Is nothing to do with cosets. Suppose H and K are subgroups of order 5, then HnK is a subgroup whose order divides 5, so it follows HnK=H=K or HnK={e} So the subgroups are either equal or contain only one element in common. So if there 7 (or fewer) distinct subgroups of order 5 these contain 7*4+1=29 disticnt elements: they all contain e, and 4 other elements each that appear in exactly one subgroup. If there were more than 7 then what would happen?

3 makes no sense.