Dismiss Notice
Join Physics Forums Today!
The friendliest, high quality science and math community on the planet! Everyone who loves science is here!

Suggestions A Good Book?

1. Nov 10, 2009 #1
    Ok, so I am a third year astrophysics student.

Half way in to first semester and everything is good apart from Quantum Mechanics! with help I can do questions and im understanding it but everytime I get a new question I find it really hard.

The reccomended text is "Quantum Mechanics" by F. Mandl, it is a very helpful book however I was wondering if anyone else can reccomend a good book which is less proofs and derivations and more questions and solutions to get some practise?? Preferably a 'user friendly' book!

2. jcsd
  3. Nov 10, 2009 #2
    I always found my undergraduate QM text to be quite readable. Its "Introduction to Quantum Mechanics" by Griffiths. Excellent book.

4. Nov 10, 2009 #3
    J. J Sakurai - Modern QM

"Shock Treatment"

Last edited: Nov 10, 2009
  5. Nov 11, 2009 #4
    Thanks guys, I will look into them, im really struggling coming to grips with the notation explained in the lectures, prehaps a different explanation will help!

6. Nov 11, 2009 #5

Fredrik

Staff Emeritus
    Science Advisor
    Gold Member

"Lectures on quantum theory: mathematical and structural foundations" by Chris Isham.
    "Quantum mechanics: a modern development" by Leslie Ballentine

Isham's book is easy, and perfect as a supplement to whatever you're studying for your first QM class. It includes a few excercises with complete solutions, but its emphasis is on the structure of the theory. Ballentine's book is excellent. I think it should eventually replace Sakurai as the standard advanced text. It would however be a terrible choice as a first book. It should be your third (after e.g. Griffiths and Isham).

Also note that there's a science book forum here, where you can find lots of threads like this one.

7. Nov 11, 2009 #6