SULI 2023 Acceptance: Share Your Story

In summary: I just got an offer from SLAC too!I just heard back from a staff scientist at Berkeley lab!I'm a junior. I applied to PPPL and BNL. I interned at BNL last summer.I just got an offer from SLAC too!Hi! I am a junior! I applied to ORNL and SRNL!I'm a sophomore. I applied to ORNL and LLNL. Did anyone hear back yet?
wnguyen1312
Didn't see a thread yet for this, so I'm making one. I'm a sophomore and I applied to SLAC and Oak Ridge. Put that where you applied, and we can start talking!

Physics news on Phys.org
Are you looking to talk to other folks who have applied and gotten positions at SLAC and Oak Ridge?

jedishrfu said:
Are you looking to talk to other folks who have applied and gotten positions at SLAC and Oak Ridge?
Yes and also the people who are applying for the summer 2023 cycle. It would be interesting to know the profile of the students who got in before

I'm not sure how much this helps. SULI ultimately comes down to the individual investigator, and the fact that Dr. X looked for something in one year doesn't mean that's what Dr. Y will do the following year.

You want strong letters, good grades, and rigorous coursework. Fine-tuning beyond that is probably not so helpful.

• Informative
Likes berkeman
I listed Berkeley lab as my first choice and Argonne as my second, condensed matter and quantum materials was my research choice for both labs. I'm a junior with just under a year of research experience in experimental condensed matter. I've presented my work at a national conference and am finishing up on two publications. My GPA is meh though at around 3.6, it's probably the only thing about my application that has me worried haha.

Likes berkeman
Hi! I am a junior! I applied to ORNL and SRNL!

I'm a sophomore. I applied to ORNL and LLNL. Did anyone hear back yet?