Summer programs for hs student

In summary: It's hard to say - it depends on the program and the teacher. Some programs are great and some are not so great. It's important to research the program you're interested in and make sure you're comfortable with the teacher. College courses are also more challenging, so if you're not prepared for that, it might be a struggle.
jai6638
hey.. I'm currently a HS sophomore and was exploring the option of joining summer programs at universities.. are these summer programs worth going to and would they look better on my college applicatoin compared to joining a summer program in my private HS or in another private HS such as Choate, Phillips Exeter,etc?

Any additional/firsthand info on these summer programs would also be appreciated

thanks much

Physics news on Phys.org
It must suck to do extra-curriculars just to get into University/College.

Here in Canada, we only have to get good grades.

Jason, I don't think that comment was entirely useful. :wink:

jai6638 said:
are these summer programs worth going to and would they look better on my college applicatoin compared to...
I'd suggest looking into what the colleges have to offer and decide for yourself if it's something that interests you or can possibly be beneficial for your college career. Try to forget about doing something just for the college transcript. Do something that's worth your time. The only thing I'd suggest is to choose something that relates to what you would like to major in or study.

well i probably want to do Engineering ( mechanical or aerospace ) so not sure if i should take a physics course... I am actually in two minds whether it will actually be beneficial to me or not... i plan to take the AP physics course next year anyway so i don't want to cover the same thing!