Summer Research at CERN - Share Your Experience!

In summary: I heard rumors about the selection process, namely, your application is forwarded to prospective mentors only if your application happens to contain certain keywords the mentors specified (maybe C++? ROOT? quantum mechanics?). Otherwise your application would never see the light of the day no matter how stellar it is.This is definitely not how things work at CERN. I was not rejected because my application didn't contain the right keywords, but because I didn't have enough experience (in my case, I was a first-time student). CERN is definitely not interested in only hiring students with prior experience.This is definitely not how things work at CERN.
cla7907
Hello again!

Has anyone applied to CERN's summer program, or, had undergraduate research experience at CERN, or, know anyone who has?

If so, would you like to share that experience?

I can only imagine how awesome that experience would be!

Thanks!

Physics news on Phys.org
I was there 2009 summer in their official program. It was nice. I didn't get too much out of it because the best part about that program are the lecture series (which can be viewed online too btw). I had to come way before their program officially started so by the time the lectures had started, I was neck deep in completing my "ROOT" macros and getting some viable results to show back in my uni.

Apart from the regular lectures, there were some superstar-lectures that you can attend. During my time one of the lectures was by Weinberg (if you're thinking about CERN, you should know this name) but it was basically a review of how QFT had progressed over the years and was way too advanced for my level at that time. Another I remember was Nobel Laureat J Steinberger on the environment\ energy solutions and stuff.